My diary

I flip through the pages,
Coming across the things I haven’t felt in ages

Old memories, I cherish them
Old jokes, I laugh on them
Old scars, they give me strength

The feelings I was numb to,
Have warmed me up again

The heart says, “those were the days”
But the brain warns, “stop, you’ll hurt yourself again”

As I flip through the pages of my diary,
My eyes well up with tears

Soon a smile spreads across my lips,
As I wipe my tears away

Page by page, I tear my diary into shreds
Letting go of the emotions that once caged me

I am free.

3 thoughts on “My diary

Leave a Reply

