A Reader’s Muse 

I close the book shut;
Yet somehow, 

I can breathe the story,

Living between the pages,

Calling out to me.

The words play inside my head,

Dancing and racing,

They make my heart race,

And my mind churn.

The words hit me,

Just as a strong wave hits the shore,

Making the hardest of rocks wither;

Like flower petals

It makes me feel heavy,

Yet, it gives me wings to fly;

It makes me contemplate,

But also easies my mind.

I had closed the book shut;

Hours ago,

Yet somehow it whispers to me,

“Read me again,

And unfold another story.”

Leave a Reply

